Board of Directors

Andrew M. O’Brien
Executive Chairman of the Board

Andrew M. O’Brien has served as Executive Chairman since July 2022 and as one of our directors since December 1996. He previously served as Chief Executive Officer from 1996 to 2022 and President from 1996 to 2021. Prior to founding our company, Mr. O’Brien served as a General Partner, Executive Vice President and director of E.W. Blanch Company. Mr. O’Brien has also served as a director of the Health Care Insurance Facility, First Dakota Indemnity Company and SAFE, Inc., a holding company for an accident and health insurer. Mr. O’Brien holds a B.A. in Sociology from the University of Minnesota, a J.D. from the University of Minnesota Law School and a Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter designation.

Julie A. Baron
President and Chief Executive Officer

Julie A. Baron has served as our President and Chief Operating Officer since June 2021. She previously held the role of Chief Financial Officer beginning in 2015, as well as Treasurer and Secretary. From November 2007 to March 2015, Ms. Baron served as the Controller for Benchmark. Prior to joining Trean, Ms. Baron was a controller for a mortgage broker and title company in the Twin Cities. Ms. Baron holds a B.S. in Accounting from Arizona State University and is a Certified Public Accountant (inactive).

Daniel G. Tully

Daniel G. Tully has served as one of our directors since July 2015 and was Chairman of the Board from July 2020 until July 2022. Mr. Tully is a Managing Director at Altaris Capital Partners, LLC, which he co-founded in November 2002. Mr. Tully has extensive experience serving on audit, compensation, and compliance committees. Prior to the formation of Altaris Mr. Tully held various positions with Merrill Lynch, including serving as the firm’s global head of healthcare equity capital markets and as a member of Merrill Lynch’s private equity and investment banking groups. Mr. Tully has also served as a director of Tivity Health, Inc. since August 2019. Mr. Tully received a B.S. in Economics from the University of Pennsylvania, Wharton Undergraduate Program.

Member of the Compensation, Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
Steven B. Lee
Senior Vice President and Director

Steven B. Lee has served as one of our directors since December 1996. Mr. Lee has also served as the Senior Vice President for Trean Reinsurance Services, LLC since December 2016. Mr. Lee has 38 years of experience in the reinsurance and insurance industry focusing on workers’ compensation, casualty and professional liability. Mr. Lee holds a B.A. in Psychology from St. Olaf College, an M.B.A. from the University of Wisconsin and a J.D. from the Mitchel Hamline School of Law.

Mary A. Chaput

Mary A. Chaput has served as one of our directors since August 2020. Since May 2018, Ms. Chaput has served as a member of the board of directors of Clearwater Compliance LLC, a healthcare cybersecurity and compliance company. From January 2012 to May 2018, Ms. Chaput served as Chief Financial Officer and Chief Compliance Officer of Clearwater Compliance LLC. From October 2001 to December 2011, Ms. Chaput served as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Healthways, Inc. (now known as Tivity Health, Inc.), a publicly traded provider of health solutions. While at Healthways, Ms. Chaput led the global finance organization, including acquisitions, legal, treasury activities, accounting, and tax planning. Ms. Chaput received a B.A. in Mathematics from Russell Sage College and an M.B.A., summa cum laude, from State University of New York, Albany. She is also a graduate of the General Electric Financial Management Program.

Member of the Audit Committee
Member of the Compensation, Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
Randall D. Jones

Randall D. Jones has served as one of our directors since January 2008. Mr. Jones has served as the General Manager for Strategic Advisors Group, LLC since April 2001. From October 2010 to December 2017, Mr. Jones served as the Consulting Education Director for the National Association of Professional Surplus Lines Offices (‘‘NAPSLO’’), which is now the Wholesale & Specialty Insurance Association. Mr. Jones has over 40 years of experience in the specialty property and casualty insurance industry and has specific training as a wholesale broker, claims adjuster and underwriter. Mr. Jones holds a B.S. in Administration of Justice from Southern Illinois University and a M.Ed. from Central Michigan University.

Member of the Audit Committee
Chair of the Compensation, Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee
Terry P. Mayotte

Terry P. Mayotte has served as one of our directors since July 2020. Mr. Mayotte served as the Chief Financial Officer for Oasis Outsourcing Holdings Inc. from July 2016 to December 2018, when it was acquired by Paychex, Inc. Mr. Mayotte has extensive experience in workers' compensation, a core product of Oasis Outsourcing Holdings Inc. Mr. Mayotte holds a B.A. in Finance from Emory University.

Chair of the Audit Committee
Philip I. Smith

Philip I. Smith has served as one of our directors since March 2022. He is currently a managing director of Duff & Phelps, an investment banking firm that provides valuation, corporate finance and other services, where he provides mergers and acquisitions advisory services. Prior to joining Duff & Phelps in 2017, Mr. Smith was a Managing Director with BMO Capital Markets (formerly Greene Holcomb and Fisher) where he focused on healthcare mergers and acquisitions. Before that, he was a member of the medical device investment banking team at Piper Jaffray in Minneapolis. Early in his career, Mr. Smith served as an executive officer for a number of medical technology companies, including DGIMED Ortho, Vital Images, Thermonix and Image-Guided Neurologics. He has also served on the board of directors of Delta Dental of Minnesota, MGC Diagnostics (formerly Angeion Corp) and Intricon Corp. Mr. Smith received an MBA from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and a BS in electrical engineering from the University of Florida.